EDESON TV: National Open University Matriculation Documentary (VIDEO)

Tuesday, June 11, 2019

10 Things You Didn’t Know About New Nigeria Senate President Ahmed Lawan

Image may contain: 4 people, people smiling, text
 The Senator representing Yobe North constituency, Ahmed Lawan, has won the leadership position of the ninth National Assembly. Senator Lawan defeated his opponent Ali-Ndume with 79 votes from the lawmakers, thereby making him the Senate President.

107 senators cast their votes.
Here are 10 things who did not know about New President of the Senate, Senator Ahmed Ibrahim Lawan:
1.Ahmed Ibrahim Lawan was born in 1959.
2.He became a senator in 2007.
3.He is a Nigerian senator who represents the All Progressive Congress (APC) in the Yobe North Constituency of Yobe State.
4.He received a bachelor’s degree in Geography from the University of Maiduguri, a master’s degree in remote sensing from Ahmadu Bello University and a doctorate degree in remote
sensing/GIS from Cranfield University, UK.
5.Elected to the House of Representatives for the northern state of Yobe in 1999, at different times Lawan chaired the House Committees on education and agriculture.
6.In 2008, he was a member of the National Assembly’s Joint Committee on Constitution Review.
7.In 2009, as chairman of the Senate Committee on Public Accounts, Lawan initiated and sponsored the Desertification Control Commission Bill.
8.In August 2009, Senator Lawan spoke against the proposed Kafin Zaki Dam. He stated that the Tiga Dam and Challawa Gorge Dam had already reduced water flow drastically, and the Jama’are River was now the main source of water in the Yobe River. He said the dams caused intense poverty, increased desert encroachment, migration and conflicts between arable farmers and herdsmen.
9.Lawan ran for reelection in Yobe North Senatorial District on the ANPP platform in the 9 April 2011 elections. He won with 92,799 votes, trailed by Hassan Kafayos Hussaini of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) with 76,960 votes.
10.He was elected President of the Ninth Senate on this day, Tuesday, June 11, 2019, after 107 of the 109 senator-elect voted for him ahead of fellow APC senator Ali Ndume.


Funmi Babatunde

I thought ndume will win

Endy Edeson

Funmi, it is crystal clear that lawan is the chosen one by APC

Ibitoye Abdul Quadri

Congratulations to him

Janet Ovayoza

Congratulations to him....
Apc got all the potholes cemented.....

No political seat is a birth-right .

I just want good economy and a working Nigeria.

InsideLife OmoGrace

Nigeria govt with there drama. president had already choosen him already .saraki dn teach them beta lesson ..Lolz

Salami Temitope Emmanuel

Very Interesting

Justtiin Uzor

Not a surprise... Let's see how the affairs of Nigeria will move at least all the plans of the party is at the right direction... Hope it ends up to be for the best interest of the people..
Blogger Widgets